Run Rabbit Run

Run Rabbit Run

When Lizzie’s dad refuses to fight in the War, the police come looking to arrest him. Desperate to stay together, Lizzie and her brother Freddie go on the run with him, hiding in idyllic Whiteway. But when they’re forced to leave it becomes more difficult to stay together. Will they be able to? And will they ever find a place, like Whiteway, where they will be safe again?

Winner of the Historical Society’s Young Quills Award
Stockton Children’s Book of the Year

This book was also nominated:

  • The Carnegie Medal
  • The Northern Ireland Book Award
  • The Red House Book Award
  • The Redbridge Book Award
  • The Coventry Inspirational Book Award
  • The Stockton Children’s Book Award.

Barbara Says:

It was something my Aunt Sarah told me shortly before she died together with the gift of a brooch that led me to write Run Rabbit Run. The brooch contained a photograph of Fred, my aunt’s younger brother and she had kept Fred’s secret for over seventy years. Only as she lay dying did she reveal that he had been a Conscientious Objector.

Reviews:

A great read for kids from about 8 upwards, and for much older readers who are interested in fiction set during WWII. --The Bookbag
A thought provoking but also a really engaging story that provides valuable insight into that dramatic period of history. --ReadingZone
A thought-provoking read which would be excellent background reading for pupils studying World War Two. --Parents In Touch
Page turner that tackles interesting issues about life choices and acceptance. --Angels & Urchins
This book will be a real hit with the many readers who love "Carrie's War" and "Goodnight Mister Tom". --Armadillo Magazine

Other books you might like...

Twist of Fortune Road To London Cover Dangerous Diamonds Storm Runners